fbpx
Célébration de 20 ans à Stone Barns Découvrez notre mission

Dr Kathleen Merrigan

Le Dr Kathleen Merrigan est la première directrice exécutive du Swette Center for Sustainable Food Systems de l'Arizona State University. Elle occupe également le poste de professeur de pratique Kelly et Brian Swette en systèmes alimentaires durables avec des nominations à la School of Sustainability, au College of Health Solutions et à la School of Public Affairs.

Auparavant, Kathleen était directrice exécutive du développement durable à l'Université George Washington, où elle dirigeait le GW Sustainability Collaborative et le GW Food Institute. De 2009 à 2013, Kathleen a été secrétaire adjointe et directrice de l'exploitation du département américain de l'Agriculture, où elle a dirigé l'initiative Know Your Farmer, Know Your Food pour soutenir les systèmes alimentaires locaux. !" campagne et a été la première femme à présider la Conférence ministérielle de l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture.

Kathleen est titulaire d'un doctorat. en planification et politique environnementales du Massachusetts Institute of Technology, un MPA de l'Université du Texas et un BA du Williams College. Elle est coprésidente d'AGree, directrice du conseil d'administration de Food Corps et de Marrone Bio Innovations, et membre du comité directeur du Council of Environmental Deans et directeurs du National Council for Science and the Environment. En 2010, le magazine Time a nommé Kathleen parmi les 100 personnes les plus influentes au monde.

Powered by GTranslate

At The Farm

Located in Pocantico Hills, NY, Stone Barns is a laboratory for learning and catalyzing a culture of informed, healthy eating.

See Overview

Teaching & Learning

By educating people about food and farming, we're encouraging the food citizens of tomorrow to make healthier life choices for themselves and the planet.

See Overview

About Us

We are working to develop a culture of eating based on what farms need to grow to build healthy soil and a resilient ecosystem.

See Overview

Dr. Kathleen Merrigan

Dr. Kathleen Merrigan is the first executive director of the Swette Center for Sustainable Food Systems at Arizona State University. She also holds the position of the Kelly and Brian Swette Professor of Practice in Sustainable Food Systems with appointments in the School of Sustainability, College of Health Solutions and School of Public Affairs.

Previously, Kathleen was the executive director of sustainability at George Washington University, where she led the GW Sustainability Collaborative and GW Food Institute. From 2009-2013, Kathleen served as the deputy secretary and COO of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, where she led the Know Your Farmer, Know Your Food Initiative to support local food systems, was a key architect of First Lady Michelle Obama’s “Let’s Move!” campaign, and was the first woman to chair the Ministerial Conference of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.

Kathleen holds a Ph.D. in environmental planning and policy from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, a MPA from the University of Texas, and a B.A. from Williams College. She serves as co-chair of AGree, board director of Food Corps and Marrone Bio Innovations, and steering committee member of the Council of Environmental Deans and Directors of the National Council for Science and the Environment. In 2010, Time magazine named Kathleen among the 100 most influential people in the world.